top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMerri Dodds

The gentle man


In awe

I am

That you ignore the concept of time,

hold no rush no hurry no hussle,

in step.


You speak soft and low

Gentle, baritone

In all interactions-

Even excited.


You roll words over tongue like a hymn

And you dance in this same wave of vibration.

You would describe this

By the rhythms of nature.


You hold no prejudice

Despite particular upbringing


You hold no anger

Despite reason to be angry at the world


You never sacrafice your authenticity

To our social system


I often replay

A scene

Of you buying passionfruit from an old woman

On the streets of Kampala.

Fruit piled like trickery perfectly ontop of each other


You smile

Try Swahili and some English

Barter with cheek

Pay for the fruit

Bow to her

Hold her hand in respect and kindness

And then


Linger there.


And the moment feels safe and loving,

Not strange.


I presume this is time to move on.

I begin to walk.

But did I not tell you this man

Holds no preconceived structures?


You sit down and play with the grandchild and offer some biscuits to them

I look back and lift off my chains of Englishness.


Let me learn kindness and love from this man.

Let me learn selflessness.

Let me be reminded of what is important.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A realisation ft Phil Collins

Phil Collins writes about different kinds of love With vulnerability. About the pain About the joy About the unconditional love Sing Oh I remember mumma said You can’t hurry love No you just got to wa

The wonder of woman

He sees God as a woman He calls to prayer: You are beautiful, You are strong You are sexy You are almighty He sees god as a woman He calls to prayer: You made many become one In the light of love He s

I see you 2

I see your sunken face and low energy I hope someone brings you to the sunflower field And you live out the sorrow To understand simplicity and your own soul

bottom of page