top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMerri Dodds

A realisation ft Phil Collins



Phil Collins writes about different kinds of love

With vulnerability.

About the pain

About the joy

About the unconditional love


Sing

Oh I remember mumma said

You can’t hurry love

No you just got to wait

She said love don’t come easy

It’s a game of give and take


I drive back from your house

Over sing to Phil on the radio

And realise

Our love is lifelong

Even if you leave me, there will always be a part of me that’s yours


Sing

Cause I can’t stop loving you

No, I can’t stop loving you

No, I won’t stop loving you

Why should I

Why should I


Moments I cherish

Where oxytocin drums through my blood,

overrides the water percentage in my body,

When we are skin on skin

Or you are whisper singing -

dream catch me


Sing

And I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord

Well I've been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord


I watch YouTube videos By The Skin Deep,

People smiling,

their eyes alight

explaining the first time they fell in love.

I’m surprised.

I share similar stories from before I met you

Of falling in love so young

So intensely

Before I could

Conceptualise it


Sing

so take a look at me now

There’s just a empty space

There’s nothing left here to remind me

Just a memory of your face


I realise

I will never shake

How I felt about my other lovers

It’s interlaced through my vines of veins,

A section devoted in my brain,

But Oh how wonderful

That we creatures

Have feelings that can take over our body parts


Sing

'Cause I see your true colours,

I see your true colours shining through,

And that’s why I love you

So don’t be afraid to let them show

Your true colours

True colours

Are beautiful like a rainbow


all I know and realise now

Is that there is beauty in both love and heartache

Maybe the sorrow grief or separation brings

proves that

to love and to be loved

is our ultimate purpose


Sing

Two hearts

living in just one mind

Beating together

Until the end of time

You know

Two hearts

Living in just one mind

Together forever

Until the end of time


I learn this from many great visionaries throughout the world; Gandhi, artist like Munch and so

But who knew Phil Collins would be one of the love gurus

And have so many bangers


Sing

Cause I can’t stop loving you

No, I can’t stop loving you

No, I won’t stop loving you

Why should I


Why should I



This is the last poem I wrote and it was a year and a half ago. I had read (& ?sung) it once at a poetry night before lockdown. I completely lost my motivation with poetry during this time and I think that's because people inspire me. But I'm very happy that I had a epiphany in the bath this week and there is now a couple brewing - the ball is rolling and dust is shaken off...


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The wonder of woman

He sees God as a woman He calls to prayer: You are beautiful, You are strong You are sexy You are almighty He sees god as a woman He calls to prayer: You made many become one In the light of love He s

The gentle man

In awe I am That you ignore the concept of time, hold no rush no hurry no hussle, in step. You speak soft and low Gentle, baritone In all interactions- Even excited. You roll words over tongue like a

I see you 2

I see your sunken face and low energy I hope someone brings you to the sunflower field And you live out the sorrow To understand simplicity and your own soul

bottom of page