top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMerri Dodds

The elusive woman


I see you


You stand in an allotment-

In a world

You've nutured.

Head tilted,

Innonently growing old and loosing integrity.


Ghostly, reflective white hair

Held as if

Gravity applies from the centre of the earth to the sky

just for you.

Black ear muffs

In spring

And a look I couldn't ignore.


I wonder

What you have seen

In your life

And what does contemplation contain

when you

Stop to stare at moving trains

Glazed and jaw open

Rake in hand, hovering

Over dry soil


Have you frozen in time?

Unable to grasp the clarity of your youth?

I understand

Your mind is more than blank,

Memory isn't lost,

It is present but can be inaccessible.


Slowly, life prunes away at the sweet peach tree.

Not remembering this happiness

Scares me.


I am within the bullet case,

Flying so high,

But you ground me,

You remind me that

Time and sanity becomes ever more elusive.


I see you.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A realisation ft Phil Collins

Phil Collins writes about different kinds of love With vulnerability. About the pain About the joy About the unconditional love Sing Oh I remember mumma said You can’t hurry love No you just got to wa

The wonder of woman

He sees God as a woman He calls to prayer: You are beautiful, You are strong You are sexy You are almighty He sees god as a woman He calls to prayer: You made many become one In the light of love He s

The gentle man

In awe I am That you ignore the concept of time, hold no rush no hurry no hussle, in step. You speak soft and low Gentle, baritone In all interactions- Even excited. You roll words over tongue like a

bottom of page