top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMerri Dodds

Honey

Updated: Sep 3, 2018


Honey, you’re soft and sticky


When you’re sweet

You’re o’ so sweet.

Gobble you up, swarm towards you

Like bees to your blood


Honey, you're crystallised and shimmering yellow


Your juicy skin scorching in sun,

sucking on a blood orange,

I took mine to the eye-

Oh the agony.


Honey, you're thick and tempting


You stuck to the corners of my mind

Hung around me

like an umbilical cord made from rope.

Some say it adds to my weight.

I know your presence refreshes me


Honey, you're medicinal to the mind but poisonous to the soul.


Peer into my honey comb of thoughts

Pocketed, sugar coated and intricate

I remember only

Your attributes


Honey, you’re hard and glazed.


You caught a fish through its eye;

It left us both blind.

The bitter tinge leaked

On to my tongue.

Oh, this strange familiarity of regret


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A realisation ft Phil Collins

Phil Collins writes about different kinds of love With vulnerability. About the pain About the joy About the unconditional love Sing Oh I remember mumma said You can’t hurry love No you just got to wa

The wonder of woman

He sees God as a woman He calls to prayer: You are beautiful, You are strong You are sexy You are almighty He sees god as a woman He calls to prayer: You made many become one In the light of love He s

The gentle man

In awe I am That you ignore the concept of time, hold no rush no hurry no hussle, in step. You speak soft and low Gentle, baritone In all interactions- Even excited. You roll words over tongue like a

bottom of page